MPs ordered to leave for disobeying the Chair and trading barbs

The Star November 1, 2011

Walking out: Gobalakrishnan leaving the Dewan Rakyat after being ejected for disrupting the session.
THE Speaker and his deputy ejected three members at different times during the sitting after they refused to obey the Chair and stop trading barbs.

The three MPs were G. Goba­la­krishnan (Ind-Padang Serai), Er Teck Hwa (DAP-Bakri) and Lim Lip Eng (DAP-Segambut).

In the first incident, Deputy Speaker Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar ordered Gobalakrishnan out when he refused to sit during a heated exchange with several MPs, including Karpal Singh (DAP-Bukit Gelugor).

Gobalakrishnan got into trouble with the Chair after he weighed in with his views over a motion submitted by Karpal and rejected by the Speaker.

The motion was over a tweet by Khairy Jamaluddin (BN-Rembau) on Kampung Buah Pala and linking it to the purported scandal of Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s son.

Karpal urged Junaidi to exercise his discretion to have his motion submitted on Oct 23 debated despite the rejection in chambers.

However, Gobalakrishnan chided the Opposition for raising the issue when it had failed to keep its promises to the Indian community in Kampung Buah Pala.

However, Karpal said Gobalakrishnan was “not of sound mind” (tidak waras) and “unfit to be in the Dewan”.

Gobalakrishnan continued to engage Karpal and several other Opposition members which eventually led to his ejection.

Later, Er and Lim got the boot from Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia when Er had demanded to know why International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed had refused to answer his query when he replied to points raised in relation to his ministry during Budget 2012.

Pandikar Amin ordered him to sit but Er refused and was told to leave. However, much to Pandikar Amin’s surprise, a member shouted to Er “jangan keluar” (don’t leave).

Lim owned up and was ordered out as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment